May 10–12, 2021 | Durham, NC

Regional Adaptation Leadership Award

Congratations to the 2020 Carolinas RALA recipient

— Queen Quet —

Chieftess of the Gullah/Geechee Nation &
Founder of the Gullah/Geechee Sea Island Coalition.

All the 2020 Carolinas RALA nominees were recognized at the 2021 CCRC.

Queen Quet
Queen Quet
Chieftess, Gullah/Geechee Nation & Founder of the Gullah/Geechee Sea Island Coalition

Albert George
Albert George
Director of Conservation, South Carolina Aquarium

Sushma Masemore
Sushma Masemore
Deputy Assistant Secretary and State Energy Director, NC Department of Environmental Quality

Lori Ziolkowski
Lori Ziolkowski
Associate Professor, University of South Carolina

What Is the RALA?

CISA & ASAP logos

CISA partnered with the American Society of Adaptation Professionals (ASAP) to present the second Carolinas Regional Adaptation Leadership Award (RALA).

The 2018 Carolina RALA Award went to Holly White (Principal Planner, Town of Nags Head, NC), with Steven Frank (Associate Professor of Entomology, NC State University) and John Fear (Deputy Director, NC Sea Grant and NC Water Resources Research Institute) receiving honorable mentions.

The RALA recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves in the climate adaptation field through exceptional leadership. It acknowledges the fact that deliberate, proactive adaptation, preparedness, and resilience-building is a change process, a deviation from business-as-usual, and a courageous act of doing something new and different. At its heart are individuals who make this change happen, sometimes with very few resources. The RALA recognizes distinguished adaptation leaders who approach their work in a strategic, sophisticated, well informed, inclusive, and effective manner.

About ASAP and the RALA

As the nation’s leading professional society for adaptation and resilience practitioners, ASAP is ensuring that climate adaptation and resilience work is equitable, ethical, and effective. ASAP connects and supports climate adaptation professionals, while advancing innovation and excellence in the field of climate change adaptation. Through ASAP’s website, affinity groups, webinars, and meetings climate adaptation professionals interact, share what’s working, collaborate with their colleagues and build essential climate resilience for communities across the U.S.

ASAP’s two award programs, the Regional Adaptation Leadership Award and the Prize for Progress, highlight excellence in adaptation leadership and excellence in adaptation practices of communities and organizations, respectively. These programs are a critical component of ASAP’s work supporting and connecting adaptation professionals and advancing innovation and excellence in the field of climate change adaptation.